New to this, building my company

Show off and discuss your Mobile Frame designs

New to this, building my company

Postby dedguy » Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:47 am

This is all just introduction. If you're just interested in the mechs skip to past the line.

I was big into Lego as a kid and while I continued an interest in toys into my adult, for whatever reason I packed up my Lego and put it into storage. About six months back I started buying Lego again (mostly Creator sets) and that lead eventually to getting my 70lb. or so of Lego out of storage. Since then I have been slowly re-learning how to build out of Lego. In my day job I'm a visual designer and illustrator and I'm very much a big believer in research and reference. I took that same approach with this and in my searching I ran across MFZ.

This was quite a discovery for me. I have been interested in Warhammer 40k ever since I learned of it (I also enjoy painting miniatures as a hobby) but the very high prices on that stuff always kept me away. Then I find MFZ which is both a table top strategy game AND Lego mechs. It couldn't be a more perfect hobby for me.

———————————————————————————————

This is what I have so far. I'm aiming at building one of each type I want then figuring out what parts I need to make more and ordering what I need. These are all based on and inspired by a variety of things. In most cases the builds differ from the source of inspiration due to lack of the right parts, lack of being able to figure out how it was built, or just interest in making something different. Most notably the vehicles were based on Zizy's Vehicles, the small frame was based on these ultramarines from the No BS Just ABS blog, and the large frame was based very loosely one soren's Chub. If anyone notices something very similar to something they built and I didn't mention you sorry. I like to give credit but I have looked at so many photos at this point I sort of have lost track.